Audit Committee

Section 86 (1) of the Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921), which was passed by Parliament on 3rd August, 2016 mandates all covered entities subject to auditing by the Auditor General, including Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) to set up an Audit Committee.
The establishment of Audit Committee at the Ministerial level according to the PFMA, 2016 (Act 921) consists of five members:
1.    Three independent members who do not work in the covered entity from the Internal Audit Agency (IAA) and Institute of Chartered Accountants (ICA)
2.    Two Senior management personnel from the covered entity may be co-opted to serve on the Committee

The functions of the Committee as stipulated in the Act are to:
a.    pursue the implementation and prepare an annual statement showing the status of implementation of any recommendation contained in
i.    an internal audit report;
ii.    Parliament’s decision on the Auditor-General’s report;
iii.    the report of an internal monitoring unit particularly in relation to financial matters; and
iv.    any other related directive of Parliament.

b.    prepare annual statement which shall:
i.    indicate the remedial action taken or proposed to be taken to avoid or minimise the recurrence of an undesirable feature in the accounts and operations of a covered entity;
ii.    indicate the period for the completion of the remedial action; and
iii.    be endorsed by the relevant sector Minister and forwarded to the Minister, Parliament, Office of the President and the Auditor-General within six months after the end of each financial year.

c.    meet once in every quarter and as and when the need arises.

Audit Committee Members